Sugar Free Cake

cakeIf you read my last weaning post you may remember me mentioning I was going to introduce Sonny to egg gradually by making a sugar free cake. He was fine and is now chomping scrambled and mashed hard boiled eggs like a little protein guzzling muscle head.

The cake was a huge success (both with Sonny and my other half)  so I thought I would include the recipe here. I have adapted a tea loaf recipe that my mum used to make us as kids. I also used to make it a lot for families when I was a Nanny (although I kept the fruit whole and the sugar in). The original recipe contained only sultanas but I have included apricots and dates in this also.

Recipe……

500g of dried fruit ( I used a mixture of organic apricots, dates and sultanas)

375 ml of warm tea (as this is for kids I used organic rooibos which is caffeine free – you could also use camomile or even apple juice)

250 gr self raising flour

1 egg lightly beaten.

(The original recipe also included 175 g soft brown sugar but I think it is sweet enough)

Method.

Empty your fruit into a bowl with the tea – cover and leave to soak overnight. If using as a finger food for babies then blend the fruit in the morning. If for older ones then don’t bother. Add the lightly beaten egg and sift in the flour. Plonk the mixture in a greased and lined loaf tin and bake in the oven at 375/176/Gas mark 4 for 1 hour 30 – 45 mins. You can serve this on its own or spread with butter.

Easy Peasy – Enjoy xxx

Leave a Reply

